I Did It!

Ladies, gentlemen, and others, please allow me to introduce myself. I am the Master—of History!

That’s right, as of this past May I am now the proud awardee of a Master’s Degree in History! All those who said I couldn’t do it, who petulantly insisted I would never make it, have once again proven themselves utterly, absolutely, one hundred percent WRONG. It took some major setbacks in my life to get to this point, but I persevered and came out on top. Persistence really does pay off!

What’s next for me? Obviously, obtaining a full time career in my chosen field of study, and perhaps pursuing my Ph.D. I wouldn’t mind having the title of Doctor of History, Michael Wilk. We’ll see. As of now I’m exploring my options in academic settings, museums, art galleries, and research. If I do pursue my doctorate, it will probably be in History or Cinema Studies. I loved my film history and film theory courses during my undergraduate years, and have been increasingly drawn to that particular discipline, although Medieval and Colonial history are passions as well. But that’s for the future. Now, my focus is 100% on getting hired into a full time position.

So yeah, this is a milestone for me! It’s taken far too long to get here, but better to have taken a while to get somewhere than to never brave the journey.

Leave a comment